Woodland Middle School

Telephone01525 750400
EmailE-mail Us

A values based school

Meet the Governors

The school governing body consists of the following members.

Jeff Conquest  Headteacher
Simon Cavadias (Community) Chair of Governors
Isobel Mason (Community) Co-Vice Chair of Governors  & Member
Alex Jefferson (Community) Lead Governor Finance and Premises & Member
Daniel Hibbert (Community)
Joanne Burgess (Community)
Steve Bingley (Parent Governor)
Jason Boyle
Kate Minor
Oludare Teluwo
Claire Scarr (Staff)
Sergio Matias (Staff)
Sam Auburn (Staff)

Jo Burgess (Community Governor)

I have worked in local government for over 20 years within the remit of children's services and education and am currently a senior manager at a London Authority.  I am really pleased to have joined the Woodland Governing Body and look forward to utilising my knowledge and experience to work with staff, parents and governors to ensure every pupil is supported to achieve their potential.  Having grown up and lived in London for many years, I moved to Flitwick in 2014. 

Alex Jefferson (Community Governor)

I joined the Governing Board at Woodland Middle School Academy in 2018 and now chair the finance and resources committee – a committee which supports the school in making best use of the finite resources available. I originate from Lancashire and have lived in Flitwick since 2012. As at the school year 2021-22; I have two children at the school. I am an actuary by training and currently work as a director for a consulting firm which offers global risk and HR consulting services. I have a keen interest in helping the students and the school to increase and fulfil their potential. 

Steven Bingley (Parent Governor)

I have been part of the Governing Board since September 2021 when my daughter started Woodlands in year 6. I have lived in Flitwick for 12 years and very much like to be involved in local community activities.  I work for a UK outsourcing company providing systems for blue light organisations and have an interest in enabling better outcomes through the use of technology.

Daniel Hibbert (Community Governor)

I joined the Governing Board at Woodland Middle School Academy in 2020. I have lived in Flitwick since 1996 and both of my children are former Woodland students. My professional expertise is in the areas of human resource management and accountancy. I am now an independent management consultant, having previously worked at Director level with large professional services firms where I advised on issues relating to staff pay and performance in schools at a national level.

Claire Scarr (Staff Governor)

I joined the Woodland Academy governing board in 2020.  I have worked as a Science teacher at Woodland Middle Academy since 1999.  I hope that as a long-standing member of staff that I have a good insight in to the ways that Woodland Middle Academy can progress.

Sérgio Matias (Staff Governor)

I joined the staff at Woodland Middle School in January 2007 and have been part of the Governing body since March 2016. Prior to moving to the United Kingdom and embarking on a teaching career, I have worked for the Portuguese civil service in a strategic planning role. I am hoping that my range of experiences can bring an added set of skills and viewpoints that continues to a better the governance of our school.

Isobel Mason (Community Governor)

I joined the governing body in 2014 as a parent governor when my 2 children were in Woodland Academy. I’m now a community governor and the Safeguarding link. I work as a nurse consultant in a hospital in North London and have lived in Flitwick for 18 years. I’m committed to the community of Flitwick and ensuring that Safeguarding within the school remains outstanding. I’m proud to give my time to ensure Woodland provides the best opportunities and a caring environment for all pupils and staff. 

Simon Cavadias

Simon first became a parent governor at Templefield and when his daughters moved onto Woodlands, he then became a parent governor here. He has since stayed on as a community Governor in order to contribute to building the Flitwick community. 

He is the responsible governor for Health & Safety, Risk Management and Business Continuity. Simon is also the current Deputy Chair for the Finance and Resources Committee. 

Jason Boyle

I joined the Governing Board at Woodland Middle School Academy in September 2023 after recently leaving another volunteering role within the public sector. I have lived in Flitwick for 7 years with my family after moving to the area from Hertfordshire. I have a strong facilities background and bring a wealth of knowledge from working in both corporate and public sectors to the role.  

Any member can be contacted as follows:-

c/o The School Office, Woodland Middle School Academy, Malham Close, Flitwick, Bedfordshire, MK45 1NP